Lines

I began to let myself slip into a commuting coma. alongside the hundreds of other disengaged members of the public, I was consumed into the screen of my iPhone. Sure, an iPhone is interesting, it’s bloody interesting. Just yesterday I downloaded an app which tells me all the stars that surround me, I navigate it to the North, it tells me what constellations are above me. I navigate to the East, I still struggle to understand how space is EVERYWHERE, and it will tell me that there are some stars in the shape of an animal – amazing.

So I became disengaged from my phone, just like I just became disengaged from my story. It seriously takes me a millisecond to have my mind switch else where. I disengaged, and the first thing I noticed was lots of lines. LINES.

Lines are a funny thing, perhaps it isn’t even worth calling them ‘a thing’. Some connect, some disjoin other things, some stand alone, they are in everything, but until it was a dull Wednesday morning on a shitting Greater Anglia train, I never noticed them.

My day consists of a journey of lines. Theres lines on my bed, I put a line of toothpaste on my tooth brush, I look at the 3 lines on my new VERY WHITE trainers as i tie the laces, (which are wobbly lines), I walk in a line to the train station, I stand behind the yellow line, I get on the London Liverpool St Line, then the Central Line, then I go into work, speak to my Line manager, stare at excel which is smothered in lines, I get in the lunch line, my favourite line of the day. IT TIRES ME TO ADVANCE ON WITH THESE LINES. But it happens every single day, lines.

Lines almost help to reflect life and society, and I fricking love an analogy, a fun analogy. So here is the soul of my story; LIFE IS A LINE.

You did it, you got in line, you won the race. You were fertilised. You are a human. Good job, you completed your first line of life.
Somewhere along the line, you grew up, after engaging in many line activities as a child such as putting the washing on the line, prank calling your mates on their phone line, all these lines made you, you. Whether you moved along in your single line, or you became disjoined by another line, maybe your line went a little wobbly just like my shoe laces.

I guess a line personifies time. No one understands time. I mean, Stephen Hawking gave it a good crack, but even he still isn’t fully believable. Time is too subjective. But a line can personify the multiple thoughts about time.

Some think time is linear, in that case you’re following a straight line, you meet no other lines, you get from A to B, no curve balls. Others think time is cyclical, in this case you’re following a wobbly line, maybe there is more adventure in this line, you have to follow a few connecting lines to get to the end.

I have lots of favourite lines. My favourite line of a Kanye West song is “the good outweighs the bad even on your worst day”, my favourite tube line is the circle line, my favourite line in the public is the line to go on an aeroplane and my favourite line from Friends is “something is wrong with the left phalangey”

I guess it’s maybe an idea to get away from your monotonous line of life and look about, maybe you’ll notice some shapes just like lines. then we face the issue that maybe life is really just human geometry.

Leave a comment